Skip to main content

Bulverde/Spring Branch Library Small Business Guide: Small Business Online Resources

This guide contains resources available to our community through the library or online that will help small businesses get started or manage their business.

Online Resource Links

Youtube Videos on Social Media for Business

BSBL Online Databases

 BSBL offers free access to online subscription content which may be very useful to you when

starting and running your small business. 

First login:

Then click on any link below to access the database.

AtoZdatabases is the Premier Job Search, Reference & Mailing List Database including 30 million business & executive profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

Writing Skills for the Workplace 

Buried in the Adult Learning Center database is a great business writing course. You will have to create a FREE account with Learning Express first. This course will cover the basic information you should know about various forms of business writing: 

  • Business letters, 
  • memos,
  • email, 
  • Meeting agendas, 
  • Meeting summaries, 
  • PowerPoint presentations. 

The course is set up so that you can go quickly to the unit you need; it does not need to be completed in a particular order. Feel free to visit only the sections you need at any given time.  Once in the Adult Learning Center, click on Improve your Writing Skills and you will see the Writing Skills for the Workplace course.  Create a free account and login. 

Small Business Reference Center (via Texshare Databases) - This database has full text information from books that have information of use to small business owners.  The most valuable resource is an entire collection of the popular NOLO guides, such as legal forms, writing business plans, Deduct It, etc. easily accessed from your home or office. You can search for valid resources on business areas such as

  • Accounting, 
  • Buying a Business,
  • HR,
  • Finance,
  • Legal Issues, 
  • Management & Leadership Topics, 
  • Marketing & Public Relations,
  • Non-profits, etc.